Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (DCMDS)

Course Description

Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (DCMDS)

The Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (DCMDS) v3.0 course shows you how to implement, manage, and troubleshoot Cisco® MDS 9000 Series Switches, to build highly available, scalable storage networks. Through expert instruction and extensive hands-on practice, you will learn how to deploy and use capabilities such as Virtual Storage Area Networks (VSANs), Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), N-Port Virtualization (NPV) fabric security, zoning, automation with NX-API, Slow Drain Analysis, Fibre Channel over TCP/IP (FCIP) tunnels, and more. You will learn how to configure and implement platform features and learn troubleshooting techniques pertaining to Fibre Channel (FC) domains, firmware upgrades, zones, and zone mergers.
This Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (DCMDS) course helps you prepare to take the exam, Configuring Cisco MDS 9000 Series Switches (300-625 DCSAN), which leads to CCNP® Data Center and Cisco Certified Specialist.
Required exam and recommneded training
Certification Track - CCNP Data Center Certification
DCCOR (Core) + DCMDS (Concentration elective) = CCNP Data Center Certification

Learning Objectives

  • Discover and describe the Cisco Multilayer Director Switch (MDS) platform of multilayer switches and directors. Describe the MDS hardware, NX-OS operating system, Data Center Network Manager (DCNM) management software, and key architectures of the platform, such as FC and Fibre Channel over Ethernet (FCoE)
  • Describe key product features of the MDS platform, including VSANs, RBAC, NPV, port channels, zoning, device aliases, inter-VSAN routing (IVR), and fabric security
  • Configure and implement the Cisco MDS switches and platform features, such has initial configuration, building a fabric, building a SAN extension, and configuring inter-VSAN routing for that purpose
  • Configure FCIP tunnels
  • Resolve issues and troubleshoot FC domains, zones and zone merges, and switch boot and firmware upgrades
This course will help you:
  • Learn how to deploy and troubleshoot the Cisco Nexus® 9000 Series Switches to support performance, resiliency, scalability, and enhanced operations for data centers
  • Gain knowledge and skills through Cisco’s unique combination of lessons and hands-on practice using enterprise-grade Cisco learning technologies, data center equipment, and software
  • Succeed in today’s data center operations roles


  • Basic understanding of data storage hardware components and protocols, including Small Computer
  • System Interface (SCSI) and Fibre Channel
  • Basic understanding of network protocols, including Ethernet and IP
  • Basic routing and switching knowledge

These are the recommended Cisco courses that may help you meet these prerequisites:

  • Introducing Cisco Data Center Networking (DCICN)
  • Introducing Cisco Data Center Technologies (DCICT)


  1. Set Up DCNM
  2. Explore DCNM-SAN Client and DCNM Device Manager Lab
  3. Configure and Use RBAC
  4. Configure and Use RBAC with DCNM-SAN Client andDevice Manager
  5. Manage VSANs and Fibre Channel Domain
  6. Configure NPV and N-Port Identification Virtualization (NPIV)
  7. Configure Interfaces
  8. Configure Device Aliases and Zoning
  9. Explore and Automate with NX-API
  10. Perform Slow Drain Analysis with Cisco DCNM
  11. Configure SAN Analysis and SAN Telemetry Streaming
  12. Configure FCIP Tunnels and FCIP High Availability (HA)
  13. Configure IVR for SAN Extension
  14. Troubleshoot Zoning and Zone Merges

Course Information

Length: 4 day

Format: Lecture and Lab

Delivery Method: Virtual / Onsite

Max. Capacity: 12


Related Training

Introducing Cisco Data Center Networking (DCICN)
Introducing Cisco Data Center Technologies (DCICT)

Who Should Attend

Systems engineers, Field Engineers, Architects and Cisco Partners wanting operational knowledge and hands on experience with the Cisco MDS 9000 series switches. Candidates preparing for the Storage Networking components in the CCIE Data Center Written Exam (350-080) and Lab Exam, the DCUFI exam (642-997), the DCUCI exam (642-999), and/or the DCUCD Exam (642-998).